top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Table Makeover

Pioneer Woman + Chalk Paint = New Look!

Anyone else tired of the same ole orange wood round tables? I know I was! Pinterest gives me so many great ideas, but the links never work! I decided to give this idea a shot without any help.

When my parents bought our trailer, the owners before us left us their table (thanks Alex and Helena!) There was absolutely nothing wrong with the table, but I had a lot of free time on my hands and decided to start a new project.

^^^ BEFORE ^^^

Yet again, my boyfriend comes to the rescue! He bought an electric sander a week before I decided to do this project, so of course I took it! I sanded the top of the table down so I could re-stain it a different color.... the "different color" ended up not being very different at all.. so I sanded for 3 hours, for basically no reason!!

Thankfully I remembered to add the leaf in the middle incase we ever need to extend the table!

I also distressed random spots of every piece to make it look a little rustic. I stained the top of the table and chalk painted (Annie Sloan brand) the bottom of the table and all of the chairs. After it had all dried (I waited a day), I coated Polyurethane on every inch of the table and chairs, twice.

Although the table was cute just painted, I wanted to add some color and comfort to the chairs and tabletop! Pioneer Woman was of course my one and only thought. The cushions were around $9 a piece, and the placemats were around $4 a piece! Since we only have 3 chairs (yeah, i'm not sure about that either).. I only got 3 of each! If I decide to take this set to my next house with me, I will be placing the leaf in it to extend it, finding more chairs from a thrift store, and adding more cushions and placemats! For now, it is only myself and my brother living here, so it is not necessary.

^^^ AFTER ^^^

Along with a decorated table, I had to add my chicken painting! I couldn't pass up the offer of an art class with my mom, and the chicken looked like it would fit right in with my "farmhouse" look!

bottom of page