top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

DIY Fall Pumpkin Wood Slices


Trying to decorate for fall and on a budget??? ....because same!!!

I originally asked my boyfriend to make me an antler jewelry holder... but he never got around to making it. The furthest he got was cutting the wood slices from a tree in his yard. These wood slices sat in the same spot for about a year until I finally saw an idea on Pinterest! Pumpkins, yes!

First I had to get him to sand them down so I wouldn't get 500 splinters in the process of painting them, plus it makes them look way nicer anyway!

Next I used acrylic orange paint to paint one side of each wood slice. It required a lot of paint since the wood absorbed a lot of it. While the paint was drying I went into the backyard to find some small sticks. I broke the sticks into short pieces and tied them together. I glued them on top of the pieces of wood to make a stem. I used E6000 glue! I am sure that a glue gun would work also.

**SIDE NOTE: stand them up how you would like them to be before deciding where to glue the "stem" or else they might end up falling over or be lopsided**

I had a roll of twine on hand, so I made some bows and glued them on the top.

I knew I needed something else to add to these pumpkins, so I posted a picture of them (the plain Jane one above) on my Instagram story to ask for ideas! The ideas I was given were.... add gold ribbon (yes, cute!)...and add faces (love it!)... but I slept on it...and ended up thinking leaves would be cute, too. It's neat how unique each pumpkin can be with everyone's different ideas!

I went to the seasonal section of Walmart and saw some "leaf garland" for $2.98. I cut a few leaves off to glue near the stem area and used the rest to place around them for extra color. I used a glue gun this time because I felt like it was easier and faster. I also grabbed some $0.88 brown pipe cleaners and twisted them around my finger to curl. These were also easy to glue on!

The smallest one on the bottom will not stand on it's own, so I left it on the the ground to have a prop behind it! The top two are thick and sturdy. A last name Initial would be a cute idea for a family set of pumpkins, but since I only live with my brother I did not think that was "appropriate." I am still debating on whether I should write "Welcome" on one, "Happy" "Fall" "Y'all" individually on each, or leave them alone!! Comment below and tell me what you think!

HAPPY SAWING, SANDING, PAINTING, AND GLUEING Y'ALL!!!

bottom of page